Skip to content

Horizon becomes victorious at the 2016 Vallarta Race

John Schulze’s Horizon won the thirty-second running of Vallarta Race, a 1000 nautical mile race course from San Diego, United States to Puerto Vallarta in Mexico.

Ending yesterday, their lapsed time of four days, thirteen hours, fifty-two minutes, nineteen seconds earned them Division Three as well as the overall title. Second overall was Division Two winner Roy Disney’s Pyewacket (Andrews 70) along with Dave MacEwan’s Lucky Duck (SC52) ending 2nd in Division Three and 3rd Overall.
This year’s edition of Vallarta Race was a story of two sea races. As sailors went to the Marina Vallarta dock, their tales were told with similar stress on the contrast between the 2 halves. A break away from San Diego to Cabo like no other, and then trying to avoid the holes as well as minimize the light air which most boats came across in the Sea of Cortez crossing.
When this could be the almost-regular condition to be anticipated on any Vallarta Race, the extremes that were seen in the year 2016 were really unique. Boats such as Gordon Leon’s Farr 40 Flyer reached twenty-two knots and were rolling and rocking on the first half, while the trimaran Mighty Merloe fell victim to the breeze shutdown on the 2nd half approach to the end, floating along at 2 to 3 knots at times.

Rio100 with its nineteen-men crew set the monohull record, sailing the race-path in 77.7 hours that shadowed the 2010 record of 80.67 hours earlier fixed by Bill Turpin’s Akela. Owner Manouch Moshayedi as well as yacht captain Keith Kilpatrick have been sailing the boat since 2014’s November. That time, they began with a crew of twenty-six and they have been optimizing it over the years to an 18. Yet even with a magnificent record-breaking performance, Rio100 rested on too much time to fellow Division 1 boats and ended fourth in class.